Belmont, Perth,

St John applauds Community Heroes

Inaugural award winners unveiled at Government House.

The Governor of Western Australia, His Excellency Malcolm McCusker AC CVO QC, today presented Community Hero Awards to members of the public and St John Ambulance staff, as part of the St John Ambulance Annual Awards.

In addition, 17 national medals and medal clasps were awarded to ambulance personnel in recognition of their service in front of family and colleagues at Government House.

This year’s Community Hero Awards, which replaces the previous Bravery Awards, saw eight remarkable West Australians awarded for selfless acts that prevented either the loss of life or further injury.
St John CEO Tony Ahern said the awards placed an emphasis on those that had delivered exceptional first aid under extreme duress.

“These people have demonstrated acts of courage or exceptional judgement in putting the needs of others first and they deserve to be applauded,” he said.  

A panel of prominent West Australians from media and health fields helped select the award recipients.

Special commendations were awarded to a further nine individuals.

The winners were:

Community category

Aaron Hart and Tarryn Hancey

Ben Vale

Alison Hill

Stan Davies

Cassandra Mulliner and Jack Murray

Service category

David Read, St John Ambulance Critical Care Paramedic.

  • Eight award winners across two categories.
  • Inaugural Community Hero Awards, previously known as the Bravery Awards.

Share this release

Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn

Latest news