Belmont, Perth,

St John applauds Community Heroes

The Governor of Western Australia, His Excellency Malcolm McCusker, today presented Community Hero Awards to members of the public and St John Ambulance Western Australia staff at Government House.

In addition, 24 national medals and medal clasps were awarded to ambulance personnel in front of family and colleagues at Government House in recognition of their service. Paid staff who have provided 15 years of unbroken service for St John can nominate for the National Medal, with clasps for every 10 years of service thereafter.

The Community Hero Awards are awarded for individuals whose selfless acts have prevented either the loss of life or further injury.

St John Chief Executive Officer Tony Ahern said the awards recognised people who had delivered exceptional first aid under extreme duress.

“These people have demonstrated acts of courage or exceptional judgement in putting the needs of others first and they deserve to be applauded,” he said.

“Particularly pleasing this year is the spread of ages among the winners. We have a four-year-old, teenagers and more mature people which highlights the fact that anyone can learn and deliver life saving first aid.”

A panel of prominent West Australians from media and health fields helped select the award recipients.

The Community Hero Award winners were:

Community category

  • Rikki Cameron
  • Sav Ferraro and Kurtis Rae
  • Margaret Kew
  • Rosemarie Tierney
  • Rohan O’Neill
  • Ethan Ribeiro

Service category

  • Paul Gaughan, St John Ambulance Critical Care Paramedic and Tony Leeson, Volunteer Ambulance Officer

Media Contact: Dennis Bertoldo, Media Relations Officer

Ph: (08) 9334 1237 | Mob: 0410 341 329