Belmont, Perth,

St John Ambulance WA acknowledges regional heroes

These awards serve to thank and acknowledge the people who give up their time and energy in service to the community.
Tony Ahern, CEO

Outstanding individuals and the State’s best ambulance sub centres were hailed at the St John Ambulance WA (SJAWA) 2012 Country Conference.
Awards for best regional volunteer, best sub centre and first aid trainer of the year were presented at last week’s two day event, which attracted more than 750 delegates to Perth.
SJAWA Chief Executive Officer Tony Ahern said volunteers were vital in the provision of a country ambulance service.
“We have more than 3000 volunteers who help SJAWA in the regions and their contribution is enormous,” Mr Ahern said.
“These awards serve to thank and acknowledge the people who give up their time and energy in service to the community.”

Mr Ahern said he was extremely pleased to announce Shark Bay as the state’s best sub centre.
He said despite being the Mid West region’s most remote sub centre Shark Bay was home to a happy and collegial group of dedicated volunteers that was always on the lookout for new members and welcoming of newcomers.

Megan Hinkley from the Karratha Sub Centre was named Volunteer of the Year and the First Aid Trainer of the Year was shared by Elizabeth ‘Betty’ Dyer of the Margaret River sub centre, Norm Lyon, of Meekatharra and Ewen Hill of Mt Barker.
Mr Ahern said Megan, Elizabeth, Norm and Ewan embodied SJAWA ideals and were compassionate and motivating role models.
The Don Fewster Award, for the Volunteer Sub Centre Trainer of the Year, went to Vicky Wilson of Denmark Sub Centre.
Vicky was described as a motivated and effective trainer, who ensures regular, structured training is achieved.

SJAWA covers the largest area of any single ambulance service in the world. This is done through 104 country sub centres which are staffed entirely by volunteer ambulance officers and 13 country sub centres with a mix of volunteer and career ambulance officers.

Complete list of finalists:

Volunteers of the Year (by region and sub centre)

North West - Megan Hinkley, Karratha

Mid West - John Darcy, Irwin Districts

Goldfields - Judy Carter, Leonora

South West - Matthew Guile, Pemberton Great Southern - Paul Bradley, Katannin

Wheatbelt - Amanda Milton, Lake Grace


Sub centre of the Year

North West - Tom Price

Mid West – Shark Bay

Goldfields – Esperance

South West- Donnybrook

Great Southern – Rocky Gully

Wheatbelt – Brookton


First Aid Trainer of the Year

Mid West - Norm Lyon, Meekatharra

South West – Elizabeth Dyer, Margaret River

Great Southern - Ewen Hill, Mt Barker

Recognitions Awards

Vision and Leadership: Terri Edwards from Ravensthorpe Sub Centre

Dedication and Commitment: Steven Douglas from Northam Sub Centre

Vision and Leadership: Pip Crook from Kojonup Sub Centre

Dedication and Commitment: Mick Lanagan from Sandfire Sub Depot, Port Hedland.

Training and Communications: Debbie Collins from Morawa Sub Centre

-ends -

  • Regional awards handed out at annual Country Conference.
  • More than 750 regional delegates attended two-day event.

Share this release

Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn

Latest news