Belmont, Perth,

St John Ambulance applauds dedicated volunteers

Volunteers from across the State were presented with service honours at a St John Ambulance Western Australia event held in Perth on Friday, 22 August.

More than 40 volunteers received bars or service medals for their volunteering, with seven of these volunteers from the metropolitan Event Health Services (EHS) area and 40 from the country ambulance service.

St John Chief Executive Officer Tony Ahern said volunteers were a vital component of St John.

“We receive tremendous support from more than 4,500 volunteers who donate more than 3.5 million hours to the community every year under the St John banner,” Mr Ahern said.

“These awards serve to thank and acknowledge the people who give up their time and energy in service to the community.”

St John covers the largest area of any single ambulance service in the world. This is done through more than 100 country sub centres which are staffed entirely by volunteer ambulance officers and 15 country sub centres with a mix of volunteer and career ambulance officers.

Event Health Services provides first aid support at more than 2,100 events annually. These include the Perth Royal Show, Skyworks and Leavers celebrations.

Complete list of recipients:

Peter Jenkin, Second Bar, Beverley Sub Centre

John Lane, Service Medal and First Bar, Beverley Sub Centre

Jenny Rayner, Second Bar, Beverley Sub Centre

Lynne Schreurs, Service Medal, Boyup Brook Sub Centre

Jessica Jones, Service Medal, Bridgetown Sub Centre

Terry Lamey, First Bar, Bridgetown Sub Centre

Jana Mayhew, Second Bar, Bridgetown Sub Centre

Lisa Chrystal, First Bar, Broome Sub Centre

Margaret Haddon, First Bar, Busselton Sub Centre

John Martin, First and Second Bar, Busselton Sub Centre

Patricia Elliot, First Bar, Chittering-Gingin Sub Centre

Murray Hyne, Second Bar, Chittering-Gingin Sub Centre

Carol Gale, First Bar, Collie Sub Centre

Jeffrey Rowland, First Bar, Collie Sub Centre

David Saunders, Sixth Bar, Collie Sub Centre

Robyn Murray, Service Medal, Dawesville Sub Centre

Brendan Sinclair, Fifth Bar, EHS Training division

Liz Bott, Service Medal and First Bar, Esperance Sub Centre

Frank Murray, Seventh Bar, Esperance Sub Centre

Brian Hampson, Sixth Bar, Esperance Sub Centre

Michael Robertson, Third Bar, Esperance Sub Centre

Wendy Robertson, Second Bar, Esperance Sub Centre

Anthony Rose, Service Medal, Esperance Sub Centre

Peter Pendlebury, Service Medal, Jurien Bay Sub Centre

Oliver Farrelly, Second Bar, Lake Grace Sub Centre

Terrence Gladish, Third Bar, Lake Grace Sub Centre

John Ree, Laurel Leaf, Mandurah EHS division

Darrell Church, Third Bar, Manjimup Sub Centre

Rex Dyer, Fifth Bar, Margaret River Sub Centre

Chris Solosy, Service Medal, Melville EHS division

Elsa Drage, Sixth Bar, Mt Barker Sub Centre

David Wright, Service Medal, Mt Barker Sub Centre

Richard Waldron, Service Medal and First Bar, North Midlands Sub Centre

Michael Ebsary, Service Medal, Pemberton Sub Centre

Mark Hudson, Service Medal, Pemberton Sub Centre

Ian Digweed, Fourth Bar, Pinjarra Sub Centre

Clive Stone, Service Medal, First, Second and Third Bar, Quairading Sub Centre

Thomas Walker, Third Bar, Ravensthorpe Sub Centre

Don Atkins, First Bar, Rockingham EHS division

Mark Felstead, Second Bar, Rockingham EHS division

Jacqueline Mazza, Service Medal, Rockingham EHS division

Patricia Jackson, Service Medal, Victoria Park EHS division

Judith Tyler, Sixth Bar, Victoria Park EHS division

Corinne Shields, First Bar, Woodridge Sub Centre

Dave Stroud, First Bar, Woodridge Sub Centre

Kevin Jones, Fourth Bar, Wyalkatchem Sub Centre

Sheryl Wood, Second Bar, Wyalkatchem Sub Centre

Important information

  • Service Medals are granted after 12 years of service
  • Bars are granted for every five years of service thereafter
  • The Laurel Leaf is equivalent to an eighth bar and is granted after 52 years of service