Belmont, Perth,

St John acknowledges volunteer heroes

Outstanding individuals and the state’s best ambulance sub centre were recognised at the St John Ambulance WA Volunteer of the Year Awards on Friday, 14 August.

Awards were presented at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre for:

  • Country Volunteer of the Year,
  • Metro Volunteer of the Year,
  • Young Country Volunteer of the Year,
  • Young Metro Volunteer of the Year,
  • Country Volunteer Development Officer of the Year,
  • Metro Volunteer Development Officer of the Year, and
  • Sub Centre of the Year.

St John Chief Executive Officer Tony Ahern said volunteers were vital in the provision of a country ambulance service and he was delighted to name Jo Wills, of the Rocky Gully Sub Centre, the Country Ambulance Volunteer of the Year.

“Jo led an initiative for Great Southern sub centres to share funding and access to much needed operational and training equipment,” he said.

“She oversaw this contribution model which has had a positive impact on the capability of ambulance services in the region.”

Haj Rahim was named Metro Volunteer of the Year after a busy 2015.

“Haj has contributed a staggering 1,200 hours since the beginning of this year,” Mr Ahern said.

“Not only is he an integral part of the Event Health Services team in the metro area, Haj gives his time to volunteering at ambulance sub centres in regional WA, and with the newly created Patient Transfer Community Services division.”

The Young Country Ambulance Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Michael Ridgway of the Esperance Sub Centre.

“Michael joined St John as a 19-year-old in 2012 and quickly progressed through the ambulance officer training courses,” Mr Ahern said.

“He is enthusiastic, committed and driven to make a positive contribution to the community.”

The Young Metro Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Andrew Moffat of the Morley Division.

“Andrew has given six years of solid service to Event Health Services alongside completing his undergraduate degree in medicine,” Mr Ahern said.

“He is a key member of our team, taking a lead role in supporting some of the biggest events in the state in the past 12 months.”

Sue Barrett of the Brunswick Sub Centre was named the Country Volunteer Development Officer (VDO) of the Year.

VDOs, themselves volunteers, provide training and mentoring for all volunteers.

“Sue has been the driver of improved training standards in the Brunswick Sub Centre,” Mr Ahern said.

“She helps ensure all ambulance officers have completed the requirements of the role and are up to date with the newest clinical developments.”

Dash Crossley was awarded the Metro VDO of the Year.

“Dash delivered nearly 150 hours of training programs for volunteers in the Victoria Park Division in the past year,” Mr Ahern said.

“She’s dedicated to the continuing improvement of service delivery of Event Health Services.”

Esperance was named the state’s best ambulance sub centre.

Mr Ahern said Esperance had attended nearly 1,100 cases in the past 12 months.

“Esperance volunteers aspire for excellence in everything they do, from ambulance services, to first aid training and safety awareness programs,” Mr Ahern said.

“Alongside this exceptional performance, the sub centre has been successful in retaining long-serving and committed volunteers, who take their own time to give back to the community.”

St John covers the largest area of any single ambulance service in the world. This is done through more than 100 country sub centres which are staffed by volunteer ambulance officers and 15 country sub centres with a mix of volunteer and career ambulance officers.

Event Health Services, based in the Metro area, provided first aid support at more than 3,000 events in 2014/15. These included the Perth Royal Show, Skyworks and The Giants spectacle for the Perth International Arts Festival.


Complete list of finalists


Country Volunteer of the Year

Erica Duffet – Bridgetown

Phil Cross – Broome

Eleanor Hill – Laverton

Raymond Tynan – Morawa

Patricia Moulton – Narrogin

Jo Wills – Rocky Gully


Metro Volunteer of the Year

Claire McGerr – Fremantle Division

Haj Rahim – Morley Division

Vanisha Vishram – Morley Division


Young Country Volunteer of the Year

Alara Woods – Albany

Kenny Nelson – East Bunbury and Donnybrook

Michael Ridgway – Esperance

Josh Strang – Kununurra

Rebecca Dudley – Mt Magnet


Young Metro Volunteer of the Year

Andrew Moffat – Morley Division

Tina Phan – Stirling Division

Guy Barrington – Western Suburbs Division


Country VDO of the Year

Scott Simmons – Bruce Rock

Sue Barrett – Brunswick

Mitch Harrison – Denmark

Natalie Anderson – Mount Magnet

Jeff Doggett – Newman


Metro VDO of the Year

Tom Green – Stirling Division

Dash Crossley – Victoria Park Division


Sub Centre of the Year

Bruce Rock




Mt Barker